What are our Treasured Places?

Our Treasured Places is a collection of protected public lands in the United States. The list includes:

→ 429 National Park units
→ 127 National Monuments
→ 17 National Conservation Areas

That’s every national park, monument, and conservation area in the country—special places managed by the National Park Service, US Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, and others. After accounting for overlap, there are a combined total of 489 Treasured Places on the list.

That’s 489 of our nation’s best public lands.

These places protect some of our most iconic and inspiring landscapes, and also interpret some of our most important historical lessons. Simply put, these places tell the story of America—its lands, and its people.

Adopting the Treasured Places quest is the best way to inspire visits to each of these important places.